Blunck Research Group: Photo taken October 2018


Graduate Students:

   

Harley Glad (Ph.D.)

Nathan Gardner (Ph.D.)

Mick Carter (Ph.D./M.S.)

gladh@oregonstate.edu gardnena@oregonstate.edu cartemic@oregonstate.edu
Research focus: Identifying the influence of combustion products on detonation speeds and chemistry. Research Focus: Fuel consumption and fire spread of live fuels in wildland fires. Ignition characteristics of live fuels.  Research focus: Ember generation and transport in wildland-urban interface fires

Notable: Head of Oregon State Propulsion Lab. Outstanding Female engineering student at Southern Utah University, former basketball coach at Southern Utah University.

Notable: Recipient of the ARCS Scholar Award. Member of Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society.

Notable: Former aviation structural mechanic on  MH-53E helicopters, with internships at Intel and Erickson Air-Crane.

 

 

Kaz Teope (Ph.D.)

teopek@oregonstate.edu

Research Focus: Impact of combustion products on ignition jet fuels

Notable: Major in the United States Air Foce, taught at the Air Force Academy, certified diver.

Derek Bean (Ph.D.)

beande@oregonstate.edu

Research Focus: Utilization of solid fuels in pulse detonation engines for energy and propulstion purposes

Notable: Designed and built a long range gas powered UAV for automated wildlife tracking data collection

Benjamin Smucker (Ph.D./M.S.)

beande@oregonstate.edu

Research Focus: Smoldering Combustion of Simple Fuels

Notable: Formerly involved with the hybrid rocket team

     
     
     

Undergraduate Students:

 Will Heffernan (ME)

heffernw@oregonstate.edu

Kyle Froman (ME)
fromank@oregonstate.edu

 


Former Graduate Students:

 

Sebastian Okhovat (M.S.)

sebastian.okhovat@gmail.com

Eric Zeuthen (M.S.)

Eric.Zeuthen@netl.doe.gov

Eric Walters (M.S.)

walterse@oregonstate.edu

Thesis: Temperature Evolution of
Spark Kernels in Quiescent and
Cross-flow Conditions

Thesis: Infrared radiation emissions from alternative large hydrocarbon fuels Thesis: Flameless (MILD) combustion of large hydrocarbon fuels
Employment: Bell Aerospace Employment: Intel Employment: SpaceX
 

Aaron Jesse Fillo (Ph.D)

filloa@oregonstate.edu

Parker Weide (M.S.)

weidep@oregonstate.edu

Tyler Hudson (M.S.)

hudsont@oregonstate.edu

Thesis: The Global Consumption
Speeds of Premixed Large Hydrocarbon
Fuel/Air Turbulent Bunsen

Thesis: Mild Combustion of a Surrogate Jet Fuel Thesis: Multi-Scale Study of Ember Production and Transport Under Multiple Enviromental and Fuel conditions
Employment: Freelance Employment: NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Employment: Rouge Approach
 

Jonathan Bonebrake (Ph.D.)

bonebraj@oregonstate.edu

Daniel Cowan (M.S.)

cowand@oregonstate.edu

Nathan Schorn (M.S.)

schornn@oregonstate.edu

Thesis: Analysis of the
Effects of Combustion Products on
Forced Ignition and Turbulent Flame Propegation

Thesis: Effects of Fuel Characteristics on Spread Rate and Surface Temperatures of Smoldering Duff Thesis: Turbulent Combustion
Analysis of Large Hydrocarbon
Fuels in a Reduced Pressure 
Enviroment
Employment: Freelance Employment: Los Alamos National Laboratory Employment: Onboard Dynamics

 


Former Undergraduate Students:

 

Wiley Wolfe (ChE)
wolfewi@oregonstate.edu

 

Jeremiah Hauth (ME)
 hauthj@oregonstate.edu

 

Michael Katancik (ME)
katancim@oregonstate.edu

 

Calvin Stalp (ME)
stalpc@oregonstate.edu

 

Brad Anderson (ME)
Anderbra@oregonstate.edu

 

Ian Walters (ME) 
waltersi@oregonstate.edu


Bruck Sameshima (ChemE) 
sameshib@oregonstate.edu

 

Tyler Baker (ME)
bakerty@oregonstate.edu

 

Emma Fraley (ME)
fraleye@oregonstate.edu

 

Morgan Mayer (ChemE)
mayermo@oregonstate.edu

 

Justice Ofosu (ME)
ofosuj@oregonstate.edu

 

John Anderson (ME)
anderjoh@oregonstate.edu

 

Alex Bruzda (ME) 
bruzdaa@oregonstate.edu

 

Joshua Allen (ME)
allenj5@oregonstate.edu

 

Austin Rose (ME)
roseau@oregonstate.edu

 

Jorge Dominguez
Email: TBA

 

Rachel Nelke (ME) 
nelker@oregonstate.edu

 

Haden Wallin (ME)
wallinh@oregonstate.edu

 

Kaiden Moore (ME)
moorkaid@oregonstate.edu

 

Scott Boreham (ME)
borehams@oregonstate.edu

 

Matthew Hoeper (ME)
hoeperm@oregonstate.edu