OREGON STATE UNIVERSITY

You are here

People

Faculty

Geoffrey Hollinger

Geoffrey A. Hollinger
Assistant Professor, Robotics
School of Mechanical, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering
Oregon State University
Curriculum Vitae
Research Statement

geoff.hollinger@oregonstate.edu

Office: Graf Hall 312
Office phone: 541-737-5906

*Please read the bottom of the page (do NOT call) if you are student looking for a position in the lab.

Postdocs

Nicholas Lawrance
Postdoctoral Scholar
PhD, University of Sydney
nicholas.lawrance@oregonstate.edu

Jen Jen Chung
Postdoctoral Scholar
PhD, University of Sydney
jenjen.chung@oregonstate.edu

Graduate Students

Thane Somers
PhD Student
Robotics
somersth@oregonstate.edu

  Austin Nicolai
PhD Student
(co-advisor: Bill Smart)
Robotics
nicolaia@oregonstate.edu

Jeff Caley
PhD Student
Robotics
caleyj@oregonstate.edu

Seth McCammon
PhD Student
Robotics
mccammos@oregonstate.edu

Andrew Smith
PhD Student
Robotics
smithan7@oregonstate.edu

 

Ryan Skeele
MS Student
Robotics
skeeler@oregonstate.edu 

Dylan Jones
MS Student
Robotics
jonesdy@oregonstate.edu

 

Lauren Milliken
MS Student
Robotics
millikel@oregonstate.edu 

Undergraduate Students

Heather Vermilyea
BS Student
Mechanical Engineering
vermilyh@oregonstate.edu

Brandon Lee
BS Student
Computer Science
leebran@oregonstate.edu

Juan Diaz
Visiting Student, Summer 2016
Washington State University

Evan Anderson
BS Student
EECS
evanta1@me.com

Alex Mikes
BS Student
Mechanical Engineering
mikesa@oregonstate.edu

Veronica Gruning
Visiting Student, Summer 2016
Penn State University

Apoorva Prakash
High School Intern, Summer 2016
ASE Summer Academy

Alumni and Past Members

Atil Iscen
PhD, Graduated 2014
(co-advisor: Kagan Tumer)
CS/MechE
iscena@onid.oregonstate.edu

Andrew Stuntz
Visiting Student, Summer 2014
Fort Lewis College
abstuntz@fortlewis.edu

Jan Faigl
Visiting Professor, 2014
Czech Technical University in Prague
faiglj@fel.cvut.cz

Nikki Gantos
Visiting Student, Summer 2015
Georgia Tech
nikki.gantos@gmail.com

Remy Noble
High School Intern, Summer 2015
ASE Summer Academy

  Kyle Cesare
BS, Graduated 2015
Computer Science
cesarek@onid.oregonstate.edu 

Soo-Hyun Yoo
BS, Graduated 2015
Computer Science
yoos@onid.oregonstate.edu

Yawei Zhang
MS, Graduated 2015
Robotics
zhanyawe@onid.oregonstate.edu

Daniel Fernandez
MS, Graduated 2015
Robotics
fernanda@onid.oregonstate.edu

John Diebold
BS, Graduated 2016
Mechanical Engineering
dieboldj@oregonstate.edu

Evan Gonnerman
BS, Graduated 2016
Mechanical Engineering
gonnerme@oregonstate.edu

Join us

You may e-mail the director if you have experience in robotic systems and are interested in working in the Robotic Decision Making Laboratory. Before e-mailing, take a look at the research page and identify areas of overlap based on your skills and interests. Also be sure to read the information below (adapted from Prof. Cindy Grimm's page):

  1. If you're considering the graduate program in Robotics or Mechanical Engineering, please apply to the appropriate program. We will not respond to "is there space in your group?" e-mails. Dr. Hollinger can't admit students directly, so don't ask. Every potential student must go through the same formal application procedure. Dr. Hollinger will ignore letters about admissions and assistantships. If the lab is looking for new graduate students and you've applied AND listed Dr. Hollinger as a potential advisor, then we'll find you.
  2. If you're a prospective graduate student and your research interests seriously overlap with ours, then send Dr. Hollinger an e-mail briefly telling us about yourself and what you're interested in doing, so that we know to be on the lookout for your application packet when it arrives. Letters with full CVs that don't mention specific research issues will be ignored.
  3. If you're currently a graduate student at Oregon State and you're interested in talking about working with us, send Dr. Hollinger a brief e-mail, and we can take it from there.

Note that the Robotic Decision Making Laboratory is primarily located in the School of Mechanical, Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering (MIME). If you are interested in joining us as an MS or PhD student, you should apply to the Robotics or Mechanical Engineering degree programs. 

Openings for postdoctoral research positions will be posted here when available: postdoc openings.